Council on Museum Anthropology Student Travel Award

To allow time for those just returning from fieldwork or summer break to apply, the deadline for receipt of applications has been extended to September 15, 2011.
The CMA Travel Awards are designed to support student travel to the annual AAA meeting to present papers and/or posters. Students and recent PhDs (those who have defended within the year of the award) are eligible to apply. CMA will award two prizes of $500 each. Prize-winners will be announced at the AAA Annual Meeting and presented with a certificate of the award.
• Deadline: September 1, 2011
• A brief letter of application must indicate the applicant’s status as a student or recent PhD holder, and explain how this paper/poster relates to their ongoing graduate work or current work as a recent PhD.
• Applicants must include a copy of the abstract for the paper or poster, the name and abstract for the session in which they will be presenting, and proof of acceptance for presentation at AAA.
• All applicants must also submit a letter of endorsement from a present or former academic advisor at their most recent institution of study.
Evaluation Criteria:
• Creativity: Is the paper or poster a unique and novel contribution to museum anthropology?
• Commitment: Does the student demonstrate a commitment to the field of museum anthropology?
• Impact: Does the paper or poster have the potential to develop into a work that could more broadly impact the field of museum anthropology?
Process and Rules:
• A three-person prize committee of CMA members, headed by a committee chair, will be constituted by the current CMA President at the annual AAA Board of Directors meeting each year.
• The committee will be formally announced by January 15 annually, with the addresses of each committee member publicized.
• Applicants will hear from the committee by October 1 as to the committee’s decision.
To enter work in the 2011 competition, send an electronic copy (PDF) by the deadline of September 1, 2011, to each of the following Student Travel Prize Committee members:
Trudy Nicks
Senior Curator
Department of World Cultures
Royal Ontario Museum
100 Queen’s Park
Toronto, ON
M5S 2C6
Joshua Bell
Curator of Ethnology- Globalization
Dept. of Anthropology – MRC 112
National Museum of Natural History
Smithsonian Institution
PO Box 37012
Washington, DC 20013-7012
Morgan B. Perkins
Associate Professor
Department of Anthropology
State University of New York at Potsdam
44 Pierrepont Avenue
Potsdam, NY 13676
Any questions should be directed to the prize committee chair at