Association of Critical Heritage Studies

Inaugural Conference, Gothenburg, Sweden, June 5-8, 2012
The inaugural conference of the Association of Critical Heritage Studies will be held at the University of Gothenburg in June next year. The Association, to be launched at this conference, will establish in association with the International Journal of Heritage Studies an extensive network of heritage scholars across the globe in order to debate and discuss cutting-edge research in the field of heritage studies. We see Heritage Studies as a synthesis emerging from diverse disciplinary fields, in particular public history, memory studies, museology, cultural heritage, tourism studies, architecture and planning, conservation, as well as cultural geography, sociology, cultural studies and policy, anthropology, archaeology and ethnomusicology, and encourage people working in those areas to submit papers or propose sessions/workshops that address the inter-disciplinary nature of Heritage Studies.
The theme of the conference is ‘The Re/theorisation of Heritage Studies’. This conference will develop current theoretical debates to make sense of the nature and meaning of heritage. As such, we invite submissions from people working within the ‘broad church’ of the current flowering of contemporary heritage studies.
Papers should encourage cross cutting thinking and should not be afraid to try to theorise what heritage studies is and where it should go. They should be underpinned by an active move away from site- and artefact-based definitions of heritage in a traditional sense and should pursue instead a range of methodologies and questions aiming at interdisciplinarity stemming from social science, scholarly traditions, natural science, and also creative sciences such as art and the performing arts.
Preliminary key note speakers are:
– Laurajane Smith, Australian National University
– Tom Selwyn, University of London
– Sharon MacDonald, University of Manchester (tbc)

Examples on conference subthemes are:
– Critical heritage theory;
– Issues of representation;
– Heritage and non-representational theory;
– The politics of affect and a consideration of emotion and the senses;
– Memory and identity work of communities, nations and other interests in relation to heritage;
– The utilisation of heritage discourses in debates over multiculturalism/nationalism/globalisation;
– Heritage, power and recognition;
– Heritage and human rights;
– The exploration of methodologies for mapping and exploring the social and cultural consequences of heritage;
– Intangible heritage and its implications for re-theorising heritage;
– Non-Western challenges to dominant Western heritage concepts and characterisation
of non-Western appreciations of heritage;
– Work on digital heritage that goes beyond technical treatments of archiving and
embraces a range of social media and other forms of interactivity.
– The performative nature of heritage – theorising craft, art, and creativity as discourses
in heritage;
– Theorising and redefining heritage practices – the merging of discourses;
– Re-thinking conservation science – the blending of creative discourse into social and
natural sciences;
– The performative nature of heritage – artistic practices, artistic research and theorizing
perspectives in dialogue.
Submissions are encouraged for sessions and individual papers (20 minute duration).
Submissions are also encouraged for workshops, panel discussions and performances.
The deadline for abstracts on sessions, workshops and panel discussions is Nov. 30 2011.
The deadline for individual papers or performances is Dec. 31 2011.
Selected papers and/or sessions will be published in IJHS
Abstracts should be sent to:
Bosse Lagerqvist (Organisation committee)
Fax: +46 31 786 4703
Mail: University of Gothenburg, Conservation
P.O. Box 130
SE-405 30 Gothenburg, Sweden
Organisation committee
Bosse Lagerqvist, Department of Conservation
Christer Ahlberger, Department of Historical studies
Johan Öberg, Faculty of Fine and Performing Arts
Mikela Lundahl, Department of Global Studies
Scientific committee (at present)
Annie Clarke (Australia), Rodney Harrison (UK), David Harvey (UK), Emma Waterton, (Australia), Steve Watson (UK), Ola Wetterberg (Sweden), Rohit Jigyasu (Tokyo).
Registration fee 315 USD / 220 Euro per person. Students and participants from non-OECD
countries 150 Euro per person, including lunch, coffee breaks and conference documentation.
Conference dinner 30 Euro (Preliminary)
Post-conference excursions – TBA