Material Histories: Antipodean Perspectives

Massey University’s MATTER research cluster and Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa present a symposium that brings together historians, curators, artists, designers and postgraduate students to explore the history and meanings of our material culture. It will include international speakers, exhibitions and behind the scenes tours of Te Papa.
From the British Museum’s global History of the World in 100 objects to the recent gorgeous local publication Te Hao Nui The Great Catch: Object stories from Te Manawa Museum, it is clear that there is renewed interest and excitement in material culture. Antiques, vintage and retro, as well as museum collections and would be collectors are everywhere. What does this mean for the history we research, write, display and put online?
International speakers will put research conducted locally into an international perspective. As well, there will be exhibitions and behind the scenes tours of Te Papa. Please join us to hear fascinating accounts from scholars at the cutting edge, see what is being done in print, on display and online, and be part of moving this exciting research area forward!
Keynote Speaker: Professor Beverly Lemire, Professor & Henry Marshall Tory Chair, Department of History & Classics and Department of Human Ecology, Director of the Material Culture Institute, University of Alberta, Canada.
Other confirmed speakers include: Dr Louise Purbrick (Univ. of Brighton); Dr Graeme Were (Univ. of Queensland); artist Areta Wilkinson; Dr Bronwyn Dalley (independent scholar); Dr Kate Hunter (Victoria Univ. of Wellington); Kirstie Ross (Te Papa); Dr Kerry Taylor (Massey Univ.); Fiona McKergow (independent scholar), plus a postgraduate panel of current students engaged in material culture studies research.
Date: Thu 15 Nov – Fri 16 Nov
Location: Te Ara Hihiko, Massey University, Wellington campus and Te Papa Tongarewa, on the Wellington Waterfront.
A pdf of the full symposium programme can be found here.
Enquires to the event convenor, Dr Bronwyn Labrum: